Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Gym Bullies & Running NYR January 8, 2008

Filed under: rant,running — bendtheround @ 12:16 am
Tags: ,

I have a bunch of New Year’s Resolutions (NYRs) this year – enough that there are categories of them. Here are my Running NYR – run 500 miles over the course of the year, and run a half marathon in 2 hrs 20 min or less.

Both goals are going to require pretty constant, and consistent work throughout the year, but they are pretty complementary. Training for one will help me reach the other.

I ran my first half marathon in November. That 13.1 miles was the longest distance I’ve ever run, and I loved it. I decided to do another one pretty quickly, despite the soreness and disfigurement to my feet. (Runner’s feet are gross…all callused and often with black or missing toenails…TMI, right?) My time for the first half marathon was 2 hrs 38 min and 58 sec, and I had been shooting for 3 hrs. I figure if I keep training, lose some weight (20 lbs would be pretty ideal), and do the weight training I should do, I should be able to improve my time.

The first opportunity to try will be in March. That doesn’t give me a heck of a lot of time, so I hit the gym today after work for my first official HM Training session. The gym I go to is in the basement of my office building. Co-workers call it the Work Out Closet because it is tiny. There were two other people there when I arrived, which was fine. Both are friendly and pleasant folks. Then another co-worker arrived and began riding the two of them mercilessly while standing around not doing much himself. I didn’t say anything to Co-worker 3 – the first two were taking his forceful advice with good humor, and they’re familiar and used to Co-worker 3’s input apparently.

I think Co-worker 3 and I are both fortunate that he apparently approved of the exercises I was doing and my form. I don’t like bullies, and that certainly includes gym bullies. It’s really rotten to do anything that could potentially keep people from going to the gym. It’s one thing to offer advice if you’re really qualified to give it, but it’s just not right to insist. It comes down to a matter of respect. Anyhow, everybody finished their workouts to everybody else’s apparent satisfaction.

I finished today’s session with a one mile treadmill run. It was harder than I expected to finish in 10 minutes, but I did it.

Miles Down: 3

Miles to Go: 497

 

Leave a Reply

