Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Non-Starter Weekend February 18, 2008

Filed under: running — bendtheround @ 2:58 pm
Tags:

The weekend definitely didn’t go as planned.

The Anti-Winter Party was something of a non-starter. We (the family) still had fun, but people didn’t show up and a family emergency was hanging over us, so it wasn’t all that it could have been. Like I said, it was still fun – we played Rock Band, watched Bubba Ho Tep, ate badly, etc – we just didn’t get to induce others to do the same.

There is some hope that we’ll throw the Anti-Winter Party again in March. We will see. People are going to start getting pretty busy when Spring starts rolling around. I’ve got my fingers crossed though. Mom and Dad throw a heck of a party.

…and then, there’s the 10 mile run. I am ashamed to say that it didn’t happen.

I was prepared to run at my parent’s place, but when it came time to head out the door, I found that there was still ice on the shoulders of the roads. (There are no sidewalks up there – it’s WAY too rural.) Ten miles is a long way to run on ice, particularly for a known klutz. So I decided I’d do the run on Sunday morning at home. The ice was definitely gone there.

I didn’t get home Saturday night until around 11:30 pm. I didn’t get to sleep until later than that. When I was finally able to drag myself out of bed, I was physically exhausted, it was cold out, and the radar showed rain heading our way. So I crapped out. Once again, I could have toughed it out, but opted not to. I hate being cold and wet. I hate being cold and wet and not being able to do anything about it even more.  I seriously considered going out for that 10 miler anyway, and Matt tried to goad me into it, but I decided that I’d rather pay the price later on than spend 2+ hours in a miserable run. Believe me, when I’m in the middle of the half-marathon, I’ll remember missing this training run and I will swear at myself for being a lazy ass.

On the plus side, because I opted to not spend the day dragging myself across 10 miles of suburbia then recovering from said drag, I got to spend the day with Matt, which I enjoyed thoroughly. We hit up the clearance sales and scored some very nice clothing for very very cheap – I’ve paid more for clothing at thrift stores than we did at Macy’s yesterday. So, that was fun. Then we went home, had dinner, and watched Curb Your Enthusiasm and Venture Bros.

******************************

I am officially less than one month from the half-marathon. It’s going to be very important to keep up with my training schedule this month, and my current sleeping and eating patterns are going to shoot me in the foot if I don’t change them quickly. I need to make sure that I’m not eating too much, and that I’m eating the right stuff (easy on the ice cream, heavier on lean protein, and heavy on the carbs – easy on caffeine and heavy on water). A couple months ago, I stumbled on a free food journal website that I really liked – thedailyplate.com. I used it for a while until I felt like I had a good handle on my caloric intake and stopped. I think it’s time to start back up. It’s a pretty neat site – easy to use, and the list of foods is remarkably complete. I’ll add it to the sidebar in case you’d like to give it a shot. If you’re looking for an online food journal, it’s the best one I’ve found so far.

The sleep issue will probably be just as tough to deal with as the food issue. See, if I’m going to get up at 6:00 am to run (or do anything for that matter), I *have* to be in bed by 10:30. I just don’t get enough rest otherwise. The thing is, Matt’s a night owl, and he doesn’t need anywhere near as much sleep as I do to function. So he’s awake at night and I really like hanging out with him. So much so, that it’s 11:30 before I know it and I’m falling asleep where ever I happen to be. Then it’s a struggle to get out of bed in the morning.

None of this would be a problem if I had more self-discipline. I suppose that’s a big part of what all this training is all about – developing the discipline necessary to do something like a half-marathon. Well, it’s time to suck it up and be a disciplined individual.

 

Leave a Reply

