Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Five Miler @ the Gym February 19, 2008

Filed under: running — bendtheround @ 2:17 am
Tags:

We had a short spell of beautiful spring-like weather around noon today. Perfect for today’s scheduled five mile run.

I didn’t go for a run at noon today. Instead, I went to Target with Matt, got Subway for lunch (Sweet Onion Chicken Teriyaki subs are really, really good), and finished reading a biography on Gertrude Bell. Never heard of her? Neither had I until she was mentioned in an off-hand manner in a novel I was listening to. I looked her up on the old interwebs and was immediately fascinated. Book review and comments to follow.

Anyhow, didn’t get the run in at lunch, and then it rained, and got dark and cold – which meant no outside run after work.

So, I hauled my cookies to the gym.

I read an article on Elite Feet (running blog) about a marathon running strategy – run a mile, then walk one minute. I figure that if it works for 26.2 miles, it’ll probably work for 13.1, right? So, I gave it a shot today on the treadmill for my 5 mile run. It worked pretty well. My time was a little slower than it was when I wasn’t taking a break every mile, but I suppose that is to be expected. (Total time was 56:45.) I’m guessing that the real value of the strategy starts showing up in the later miles when you’re running out of juice. Maybe I’ll give it another shot on a long weekend run.

It was a pretty uneventful run, which was nice. The gym was pretty busy – most of the treadmills were taken, but not all of them, so I didn’t give mine up at the half hour mark (as is polite).

It can be interesting to run on one treadmill in a bank of treadmills all lined up in a row. The runners sometimes start syncing up, particularly when they are running close to the same pace. That happened to me a lot before I started listening to music while I run. I’d catch myself running (or trying to run) at someone else’s pace, and more often than not, it wasn’t a good idea. (Most of the time, they were going way too fast for me.)

I had a pretty proud moment today when I noticed that the guys on the two treadmills to my left had fallen into my running rhythm. LOL I guess I felt like I won…as if my pace beat their pace in some way. I also ran longer than they did. I had another mile to reflect on that. I remember when getting to the one mile mark was a serious achievement for me. I’ve worked fairly hard since then… I’m not a gifted runner, so I feel like any progress I make is purely earned. Anyhow, even though I’m still not a particularly good runner, I’m a lot better at it than I was, and I do feel good about how far I’ve come.

One more thing. My running shoes. I love them. ๐Ÿ™‚ They are really starting to look like a runner’s shoes – they’re beaten up, stained, and likely at least a little fragrant (I don’t love them enough to stick my nose in them, so I’m hypothesizing there). I started tracking the miles I put on them in September of 2007. I had put some miles on them before then, but I have no idea how many. But since September, I’ve put 188.25 miles on those shoes. And they still feel like slippers. (They’re Brooks Adrenaline 6’s, in case you’re wondering.)

 

2 Responses to “Five Miler @ the Gym”

  1. quarkadams Says:

    Aren’t you glad I coerced you into buying multiple pairs?

  2. bendtheround Says:

    ABSOLUTELY. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I’ve still got one pair in reserve after this one. I figure I’ll retire the current pair in another 200 miles or so and move on to the last pair. By the time I finish off those ones, I’ll probably be ready to go back to a running store and find out what’s new and awesome in the magical world of running shoes.


Leave a Reply

