Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

You Never Know February 21, 2008

Filed under: state of BTR — bendtheround @ 10:45 pm
Tags:

One of the phrases I use often is “Well, you never know….” Because, well, you don’t. One thing leads to another and things happen. It’s neat, really.

It can be a lot of fun to start something new and wonder what, if anything will happen because of it. For example, this blog… I put up this blog mostly for my own amusement. I comment on my training for the half marathon, books I’m reading, video games I’m playing, and whatever shiny object has caught my attention for the moment. You know, typical blog fodder.

Well, somehow, my review of Gertude Bell: Queen of the Desert, Shaper of Nations caught the attention of the editor for Internet of Book Reviews. Long story short, we exchanged a couple emails and now he’s sending me a book to read and review for his website. It’s not a paid gig, but I get to pick the book to review, and I get to keep the book! Free book! Woo hoo!

The book he’d like me to review is already in the mail and should be here next week. So… cool! Yours truly is moving from amateur book critic to semi-professional book critic! Even if this is the only book review I write, as long as it gets published, I think I can probably legitimately claim to be a part-time freelance book critic, or a semi-professional book critic, or something like that.

Who knew? I didn’t – ’cause you never know!

 

Leave a Reply

