Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Video Game Review: Animal Crossing: Wild World (DS) February 28, 2008

Filed under: gaming — bendtheround @ 2:03 am
Tags:

There is a particular class of video game called the “god game.” These are games open-ended, and let you control the characters and/or the environment for your own purposes, be they good or evil. (Both options are fun, as far as I’m concerned.) The quintessential god game, I believe, is The Sims. I love the Sims series, and have since the first time I tried it.
Animal Crossing: Wild World for the DS has gotten great reviews. It’s cute, it’s pretty open-ended, and generally sounded like like the type of god game that would be right up my alley.

I traded in a couple games I had finished (they had very little replay value, so I saw little point in storing them when someone else could be having fun with them) and picked up a used copy of the game. This might have been where I went wrong. You see, the used copy didn’t have the instructions. I never read video game instructions, and the store has an excellent return policy, so I didn’t give it a second thought. Maybe if I had the instructions handy, the game would have been more fun.

The AC: Wild World doesn’t allow you the flexibility to create your character that I expected, and while the game is open-ended, there doesn’t seem to be anything to do that I’m particularly interested in. Paying down my lazy-ass roommates’ mortgage isn’t fun. (Seriously, do those two *ever* wake up?) I have no desire to design fabrics. I’m a rotten interior designer, and lack the interest in developing that skill using the tools provided by the game. (I assume they provide some tools, but I haven’t found them yet.) The gardening could be fun if there a variety of plants and if you didn’t have to plant in squares. The neighbors are boring. Despite my characters attempt to gossip, I’ve found little of interest about anyone or anything. Apparently, I can dig random holes hoping to find fossils or something, but I missed Tom Nook’s directions on how to do this. I was frustrated by yet another long monologue on nothing in particular and was tapping away hoping he’d get to the point…he did, and I tapped right by it before I could soak in all the directions. I couldn’t figure out how to get him to explain it again, and I haven’t figured out how to do it on my own. This means that I can’t even attempt some mischief in the form of digging for treasure in my neighbors’ gardens.

I strongly suspect that I should have done more homework on the game before I bought it. Apparently, I lack the patience to get much enjoyment out of AC: Wild World. Bummer. I’ll be taking it back to the store to trade in for something else as soon as it’s convenient. This time, I’ll do my research first!!

 

Leave a Reply

