Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Running Report : C- March 6, 2008

Filed under: music,running — bendtheround @ 9:56 pm
Tags: ,

 

This week’s training has not gone particularly well. I’ve been hammered at work – things have gotten pretty busy. I had a couple nights when I didn’t sleep particularly well, which made it too tough for me to get out of bed in the morning to go train. (I am a weenie about sleep deprivation.) Biology sucker-punched me, too. (I am a weenie in general, actually.) Pretty much all the typical excuses.

On the positive side, I did get a decent run in this morning. While I was at it, I tested out the four potentially good running songs that were the result of last night’s frenzy of measuring beats per minute (bpm). These are the four:

  • Vince the Lovable Stoner (Fratellis)
  • The Sky is Falling (Queens of the Stone Age)
  • Millionaire (Eagles of Death Metal)
  • Solid Gold (Eagles of Death Metal)

    There were a few from the President’s album that might have worked, but I don’t have them on my hard drive at the moment (Matt is kind enough to share his extremely impressive music collection with me, so I was listening on the shared drive of his iMac).

    I had already determined that the last two were good running songs, but I figured that since I had measured the bpm for them I might as well put them on the playlist. The Sky is Falling had the right bpm, but I had my doubts about it. While I wouldn’t have guessed Vince would be a good one without the bpm in front of me, once I listened to it and thought about it, I had hopes.

    In short, Vince worked out nicely and the Sky is Falling was workable, but pretty far from great.

     

    This bpm thing could really work! I’ll keep measuring songs and building my running playlist and sharing with you here.

    While I was at it this morning, I did my weight lifting. I was pleased to find that my upper body strength has improved enough that I can now do a whole 10 girly push-ups at a time! Woo hoo! I guess it pays to weight train like Chuck.

    Also on the plus side, illnesses and car accidents have been held to the bare minimum of zero. That is a very good thing.

    I’ve also planned out this weekend’s 12 mile run and it promises to be a good one as long as the weather holds. I’ll go through two wooded running trail areas – I think I like running on those trails the best.

    Still, because I haven’t gotten enough of my training in this week, so far, I’m grading myself a solid C-.

     

    Leave a Reply

