Bend the Round

…where the madness is recorded.

Book 14: Grave Surprise March 20, 2008

Filed under: books — bendtheround @ 8:50 pm
Tags:
n162742.jpg
I’m glad I stuck around for the second Harper Connelly book. It still wasn’t as stellar as the Sookie series, but it was much better than the first book. Harper and her brother are fleshed out more in this book, and I like the way the characters are developing. They’re motivations are somehow better explained in this one – maybe it’s the brief contact the reader has with their younger siblings that does it, but they are more human and approachable this time. That sense of “other” that they need to have is still there, but it’s dialed back to the right degree this time.
I also liked the story better this time. A lot better. I had an idea about what was going on, but I didn’t have it pinned down like I did with the first storyline.
Several new characters with some great potential were introduced. Manfred was almost more interesting than the main characters, actually. Depending on how the character develops (assuming we get to see more of him), he could be great fodder for a spin-off series.
One discordant note was the involvement of Josiah. His presence in the novel mutates our definition of Harper’s abilities, and I’m still not sure what to make of it. I enjoyed his bit in the book, but I missed the purpose behind it, and what triggered Harper’s ability to interact with him. I’m hoping that Harris was setting up something for the next one, An Ice Cold Grave. Which is on The List now, officially. 🙂
 

Leave a Reply

